Finalize Your Selection for the MASB Board of Directors

Stacy Bogard

By Stacy Bogard, CAE, MASB Assistant Director of Communications, PR & Marketing

DashBoard, Feb. 28, 2018

MASB is governed by a 19-member Board of Directors made up of two directors from each of the eight Regions, and one director each from Groups V, VI and VII.

Directors are elected by MASB member districts to serve up to three-year terms. Ballots for four Regions (1, 5, 7 and 8) were distributed via email to superintendent secretaries for each district to cast its vote in this year’s elections, which are due by next Wednesday, March 7 at 1 p.m.

According to the MASB Bylaws Article VIII, Section 8, if any nomination for the Board of Directors is unopposed, the Board of Directors shall declare the unopposed candidate elected without conducting an election for the uncontested group or region. This is the case for Region 2. A one-year term in Region 7 and three-year term in Group VI are vacant as no candidate nominations were received.

Candidates are listed below; you can view background information for those who are up for election in this booklet. If your district did not receive its ballot or has any questions, please contact Cheryl Huffman at or 517.327.5915.

Region 1 (three-year term)
Brad Baltensperger* Houghton-Portage Township Schools
Ted Maier Engadine Consolidated Schools
Kurt Perron Brimley Area Public Schools
Region 2 (three-year term)  
Mark McKulsky* Iosco RESA Unopposed
Region 5 (three-year term)
Janice Holz* Huron ISD
Lynn D. Hopper Fenton Area Public Schools
Dawn Kalkman Reese Public Schools
Martin “Marty” J. Ray Grand Blanc Community Schools
Jennifer Riggs Goodrich Area Schools
Region 7 (one-year term)
Vacant No candidate nominations for Board of Directors received;
Region 7 (three-year term)
Michael P. Murphy Addison Community Schools
Jack Temsey Potterville Public Schools
Dale S. Wingerd Clinton Community Schools
Region 8 (three-year term)
Donald Hubler* Macomb Intermediate School District
Robert McLachlan Romulus Community Schools
Birgit McQuiston Lake Orion Community Schools
Darlene Pomponio, Ph.D. Southgate Community Schools
Group VI (three-year term)
Vacant No candidate nominations for Board of Directors received


Read More DashBoard Articles